Saturday, January 10, 2009

Gluten-Free Tip: CANDY BARS

Many mainstream candy bars (and popular candies) are gluten-free. While most GF candy bars are not produced in dedicated facilities, the manufacturers do follow regulated standards for cleaning the equipment between products. Below are a few of the popular candy bars (and candies)* that do not contain gluten:

3 Musketeers
Almond Joy
Clark Bar
Heath Bar
Junior Mints
M&Ms (plain and peanut)
Nestles Milk Chocolate
Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
Snickers (plain)

*For a complete candy list, see Clan Thompson Gluten-Free Food “SmartList 2008” (CANDY):


marylandceliac said...

There is a huge gluten free candy list updated annually by ROCK members. Here is a link to it. If you are a member of the sillyyaks yahoo group, it is also in their files. My favorite is Dove Chocolate Promises! I am looking forward to hearing more about your new gluten free book!

elizabeth atkinson said...

Thanks for the update -- I had a 2006 ROCK list but didn't realize there was a newer one. GLEE! is scheduled to be released March 21...thanks again! EA

Linda said...

For some reason I thought 3Muskateers were not gluten free. Maybe they changed their ingredients. I don't know but I just checked the ingredient list at their website (I had to be sure) and you're right, they are GF. Yeah!

Heather said...

Butterfinger is GF also :)

Denis said...

The team at have developed the most comprehensive 2009 GF Candy List (over 1700 candies sold in the USA & Canada).

You can browse through the list by category, brand, GF Status or even by keyword. Every product has a dated GF Statement and GF Meter ranking, so you can easily tell which products are made in a gluten free facility.

It's ideal to go through those bags of candy since it only takes a few seconds to get the information you need.

Barbara Archer said...

Reeses Peanut butter cups are my favorite. I am so happy they are safe as I was just diagnosed with Celiac Disease