Ever get a gluten attack (glattack) from a cup of tea?
Believe it or not, some herbal teas contain barley.
One fellow tweep (i.e., twitterer) recently informed me that Yogi "tummy" tea contains barley with the barley info listed in tiny type separate from the ingredient list. Another tweep warned of some Teavana teas.
“In general, pure black, green, and herbal teas will be gluten free,” says Lani Thompson, founder of Clan Thompson (www.clanthompson.com) and gluten-free SmartLists. “All Bigelow teas except chamomile mango, cinnamon spice and blueberry harvest are gluten free. When gluten is present, it seems to be barley that's added to some teas (for instance Celestial Seasoning Almond Sunset or Canadian Vanilla Maple or English Toffee After Dinner or Ginseng Energy teas).”
So keep an eye out for the tiny type!